So ask me how I did with my first day of a new year’s resolutions (she asks, wiping the chocolate muffin crumbs away from the keyboard).

Ha — it’s a feast day! Happy Solemnity of Mary, the Mother of God. As for resolutions, I obviously made mass being a holy day and all. The calorie counting fell by the wayside however, and I had a good time with it.

So being the start of a new year, I had figured I needed to find a new saint for the year. In the past, I’ve chosen a saint who’s strong character represented some trait that I wish I had, or who’s story resonated with me because we both lacked a certain virtue and needed to rely hardcore on God to make up for it.

This year, I wanted to find someone I wasn’t yet familiar with, and lo and behold, the Internet  mercies of Heaven pointed me to her. Well, she’s not a saint yet. She’s in the process of beatification. JP2 declared her venerable in 1999 and that’s good enough for me: Venerable Concepcion Cabrera de Armida (Dec 8, 1862 – March 3 1937). Conchita for short. A mystic from Mexico city. I cannot wait to learn about her life and absorb myself in her writing.


Amazingly, my brief cry to Heaven for helping me find a guide for the year went like this: God, I need someone who knows about crazy daily living and still a passion for You.

Get this — the saint I “randomly” found in like 2 clicks on the Internet was a mom to 9 who lived through the Mexican civil war. Her notable writings are the books and meditations, I am: Eucharistic Meditations on the Gospel, Seasons of the Soul, and A Mother’s Letters which Wikipedia notes,

[it] “reflects the fact that she was not a cloistered mystic but a busy mother with nine children and a widow during a turbulent time in Mexico’s political history. The letters provide a glimpse of her warm, human side as she communicates with her family.”

I’m super excited to learn more about her and hopefully receive some intercession from such an amazing lady. Right now, I am 14 minutes late at one of my goals for the year, putting the girls to bed on time. So, I’ll be smartphoning amazon for those books shortly.

Happy Solemnity!

What do you think?

